Some computers that run Windows 10 comes with a stylus pen (it started with the Surface Book and has since expanded to be included with some of the higher end computers from leading manufacturers such as Dell and HP). The stylus pen became popular once Windows computers started to arrive with touchscreens—a feature that is still yet to make its way to Mac computers, with Tim Cook swearing by there is no need to have a touchscreen on a display, though most assume that Apple doesn’t want to risk imperfection until it’s necessary.

If you’ve got a computer that is compatible with a stylus pen, then you can also use the Windows 10 operating system to make that pen act as though it is a mouse as well if you like. That means you can use the pen for navigating the operating system and not just drawing. It’s not something that you’re likely going to want to do all the time, but it can come in handy if you don’t have a mouse around. There’s also an element of convenience involved by being able to keep the same device that’s already in your hands if you wanted to navigate a bit after drawing.

Note: The chance to use your stylus pen as a mouse only begins from Windows 10 build 17661. Before that the stylus only works for drawing applications such as the Windows Ink.

The following tutorial demonstrates how to turn on or off the option to allow the stylus pen to act as a mouse when you’re using a version of the Windows 10 operating system and supported devices.

How to Turn On/Off Allow Pen to Act as a Mouse in Settings

Here’s how you can turn on and off the option to allow the pen to act like a mouse in Windows 10:

1. Open the Settings application and click on the Devices link from the main Windows Settings menu.

2. From Device’s left side pane select Pen & Windows Ink, and then look on the right side pane for the Let me use my pen as a mouse in some desktop apps checkbox.

By default the option is unchecked which means you won’t find the stylus doubling as a mouse for some desktop apps. Check the box if you want to enable the option and then close the Settings app and it’ll remember your preferences.

That’s all.

Related Tutorials