Twitter has been a great microblogging site ever since it was launched back in 2006. It lets you post so-called tweets, the text of 140 characters in which you can share your thoughts, a poem, or a link to your site to promote it. Having more than 500 Million active users, Twitter has been a place for all kind of people to share their everyday life happenings with the world. As of now, there are active celebrities on Twitter, Sports Person, Business Man and so on.
Deactivating your Twitter Account
There is no direct way to delete your account at Twitter permanently, you first have to deactivate it and then after a period of 30 days, your account will permanently be deleted from Twitter. Be sure that you do not log in to your account at this time, else your account will be reactivated. Follow the steps described below:
Visit the Secure Twitter website and log in to your account using your Username and Password.
Once you have successfully logged into your account, head to the Account settings page. At the bottom of the page, you will find a link called Deactivate my account. Click on it simply.
A page will be shown containing the information about your account. If you are ready to go, just click on the link saying Okay, fine, deactivate the account.
For the security purpose, you will be asked to enter your current password. Input it in the appropriate box and confirm the deletion of your Twitter account.
There you go! You have successfully deleted your account from Twitter. However, your data will remain on the site for the next 30 days. In this period, if you wish, you can restore your deleted account else your account will be permanently deleted. You must use the Web version of Twitter to do the task above as it doesn’t work on other versions, such as Mobile version.
Feel free to leave any questions you have in the comments section below. We’ll be more than happy to assist you!